«The Bitcoin is dead, long live the Blockchain!»

2019
Image from "Economy, Knowledge and Surveillance in the Age of the Cryptocene", by Cesar Escudero Andaluz and Martin Nadal

Experimenting in Alternative Economies and Digital Currencies

In spring 2019 servus.at will concentrate on alternative economic models and the digitization of currencies. These topics will be discussed in a series of lectures and workshops with artists, writers and theorists who are trying to propose valid alternatives to the current system.

The best-known digital currency is Bitcoin, an experiment born in 2009 of a digital, non-centralized, alternative system for economic exchange that should remain independent of banks and traditional economic institutions. Bitcoin's original goal was to create a communication protocol that would allow the traceability and security of transactions while ensuring the anonymity of the exchange participants. This technical infrastructure, which consisted of a register with the history of all transactions, should not, however, be centralised and in the hands of a single institution, but should be distributed and automatically updated by the same system participants, so that everyone has the same version. This software technology is called Blockchain, a structure without which Bitcoin would have been one of the many failed experiments with digital currencies and never, as before the collapse in December 2017, would have been able to reach the incredible exchange value of 17,900 dollars. Blockchain is an open source tool whose source code was made available online by the founder himself and which over the years has become the backbone of many other digital currencies (Ethereum, Ripple, Litecoin, Monero...).

In recent years, Bitcoin, Blockchain and the other digital currencies have emerged from the cryptoanarchist niche in which they emerged, attracting the attention of large corporations and banks, unscrupulous speculators and self-made entrepreneurs who have invested in mining, the foundation of the entire trading system.

But Bitcoin and other crypto currencies (Ethereum, Ripple, Litecoin, Monero...) have always been considered risky experiments. In the economic world, digital currencies are seen as the land of milk and honey of anarcho-capitalism on the one hand, and the next financial bubble to burst on the other, with one trend regularly dominating the other. The community of activists, artists and programmers, the environment in which Bitcoin was born and took its first steps, is much more critical of the development and current status of digital currencies. Financial success has become an ideological failure that must be radically reconsidered. Today's digital currencies are no longer based on a distributed system and are no longer far away and independent of the banks and logic of large financial institutions.

What needs to be saved, however, is the underlying technology, the blockchain, the system for securely creating and managing exchanges between individual users, which is a flexible and secure protocol for various applications.

In recent months, Blockchain has proven to be a tool with great potential in many other areas such as telecommunications, transport infrastructure, digital identity and smart contracts, offering very effective solutions to existing "analog" problems. Many of these experiments take place in the field of art and activism, two environments that again become a workshop in which more visionary solutions are tested and made available to the community.

In the spring of 2019 servus.at wants to return to the topic with a series of lectures, workshops and talks entitled "The Bitcoin is dead, long live the Blockchain!".

The events will feature artists and activists who are involved in the development of alternative business practices. From the political implications of blockchain and shared databases to the conception of a digital basic income to the unification of blockchain and the Internet of Things in critical and alternative economic instruments, numerous aspects will be highlighted.

«The Bitcoin is dead, long live the Blockchain!»

2019
Image from "Economy, Knowledge and Surveillance in the Age of the Cryptocene", by Cesar Escudero Andaluz and Martin Nadal

Experimentieren in Alternative Volkswirtschaften und digitale Währungen

Im Frühjahr 2019 konzentriert sich servus.at auf die Themen alternative Wirtschaftsmodelle und die Digitalisierung von Währungen. Diese Themen werden in einer Reihe von Vorträgen und Workshops mit Künstler_innen, Schriftsteller_innen und Theoretiker_innen diskutiert, die versuchen, valide Alternativen zum gegenwärtigen System vorzuschlagen.

Die bekannteste digitale Währung ist Bitcoin, ein im 2009 geborenes Experiment eines digitalen, nicht zentralisierten, alternativen Systems für den wirtschaftlichen Austausch, das unabhängig von Banken und traditionelle wirtschaftliche Institutionen bleiben sollte.

Das ursprüngliche Ziel von Bitcoin war es, ein Kommunikationsprotokoll zu erstellen, das die Rückverfolgbarkeit und Sicherheit der Transaktionen ermöglicht und gleichzeitig die Anonymität der Teilnehmer_innen am Austausch gewährleistet. Diese technische Infrastruktur, die aus einem Register mit der Historie aller Transaktionen bestand, sollte jedoch nicht zentralisiert und in den Händen einer einzigen Institution liegen, sondern von denselben Systemteilnehmer_innen verteilt und automatisch aktualisiert werden, so dass alle dieselbe Version haben. Diese Softwaretechnologie nennt sich Blockchain, eine Struktur, ohne die Bitcoin eines der vielen gescheiterten Experimente mit digitalen Währungen gewesen wäre und nie, wie vor dem Zusammenbruch im Dezember 2017, den unglaublichen Tauschwert von 17.900 Dollar hätte erreichen können. Blockchain ist ein Open-Source-Tool, dessen Quellcode vom Gründer selbst online zur Verfügung gestellt wurde und das im Laufe der Jahre zum Grundgerüst vieler anderer digitaler Währungen (Ethereum, Ripple, Litecoin, Monero....) geworden ist.

In den letzten Jahren sind Bitcoin, Blockchain und die anderen digitale Währungen aus der kryptoanarchistischen Nische, in der sie entstanden sind, hervorgegangen und haben die Aufmerksamkeit von Großkonzernen und Banken, skrupellosen Spekulant_innen und selbstgemachten Unternehmer_innen auf sich gezogen, die in Mining, das Fundament des gesamten Handelssystems, investiert haben.

Bitcoin und andere Kryptowährungen (Ethereum, Ripple, Litecoin, Monero....) wurden aber schon immer als riskantes Experiment betrachtet. In der Welt der Wirtschaft gelten einerseits die digitalen Währungen als das Schlaraffenland des Anarchokapitalismus und andererseits als die nächste Finanzblase, die bereit zu platzen ist; regelmäßig herrscht einer der beiden Trends über den anderen. Die Community von Aktivist_innen, Künstler_innen und Programmierer_innen, das Umfeld, in dem Bitcoin geboren wurde und seine ersten Schritte unternahm, ist viel kritischer gegenüber der Entwicklung und dem aktuellen Status der digitalen Währungen. Der finanzielle Erfolg ist zu einem ideologischen Misserfolg geworden, der radikal überdacht werden muss. Die heutigen digitalen Währungen basieren nicht mehr auf einem verteilten System und sind nicht mehr weit entfernt und unabhängig von den Banken und der Logik der großen Finanzinstitute.

Was es jedoch zu retten gilt, ist die zugrundeliegende Technologie, die Blockchain, das System zur sicheren Erstellung und Verwaltung von Austauschen zwischen einzelnen Benutzer_innen, das ein flexibles und sicheres Protokoll für verschiedene Anwendungen ist.

In den letzten Monaten hat sich Blockchain als ein Werkzeug mit großem Potenzial in vielen anderen Bereichen wie Telekommunikation, Transportinfrastruktur, digitale Identität und „smart contracts“ erwiesen, das sehr effektive Lösungen für bestehende, „analoge“ Probleme bietet. Viele dieser Experimente finden im Bereich der Kunst und des Aktivismus statt, zwei Umgebungen, die wieder zu einer Werkstatt werden, in der mehr visionäre Lösungen erprobt und der Gemeinschaft zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Im Frühjahr 2019 will servus.at das Thema wieder mit einer Reihe von Vorträgen, Workshops und Talks unter dem Titel «The Bitcoin is dead, long live the Blockchain!» aufgreifen.

An den Veranstaltungen werden Künstler_innen und Aktivist_innen teilnehmen, die sich mit der Entwicklung alternativer Wirtschaftspraktiken beschäftigen. Von den politischen Implikationen von Blockchain und gemeinsamen Datenbanken über die Konzeption eines digitalen Grundeinkommens bis hin zur Vereinigung von Blockchain und Internet der Dinge in kritischen und alternativen Wirtschaftsinstrumenten, werden zahlreiche Aspekte beleuchtet.