A Nourishing Network

2020
2021

A Nourishing Network

How do thoughts and knowledge spread through a network? At which speed do ideas flourish at their best? And which routes will they take to reach individuals and groups of a distributed and undefined community of intents?

A Nourishing Network is an online-offline publication project that aims at documenting and distributing current research done by the network of artists, activists and programmers that collaborate with the Austrian net culture initiative servus.at. Especially in this moment of reduced mobility and physical encounters amongst people, the publication tries to stimulate the circulation of ideas and their further development in a community that is distributed in the whole Europe (and more) and usually has its gatherings in small-sized events and festivals, which at the moment cannot be realized.

The project consists of the creation of places where to discuss current impact of internet technologies and platforms, envisioning possible (real) sustainable models for infrastructure, and how how such models clash with the current techno-solutionist trends, topics that became very relevant in the critical art and tech scene dedicated to open-source.

Another lost occasion for degrowth?

At the beginning many thought that the spring lockdowns of 2020 might have been a great opportunity to embrace less impactant lifestyles and production models. As soon as the measurements loosened up, the level of consumption rose to pre-lockdowns levels.
Was the emerging environmental awareness overshadowed by a „sort of“ return to normality?

Re-centralization or blooming alternatives?

During the first wave of lockdown, it seems that data-avid proprietary services gained once more a more central role within online ecosystems and daily life. Communities dealing with free and open source software did not awaited, trying to continue working about alternative platform models. What happened? And what could be further explored?

Artdiversity loss: is now Zoom the best art gallery 2020?

In 2020 many cultural initiatives were forced to shift towards online videocalls, where often the materiality of bodies and matter is deprioritised. As the spectrum of technical possibilities offered by (centralised) digital platforms currently shape and actively format the field of the arts, how can we make space to experiment with alternative formats?

How the nourishing network works:

The publication format is itself an experiment on the possibilities of distribution and circulation of knowledge. It is based on a hybrid process of publishing realized by Manetta Berends and Alice Strete – editor-designers from the Rotterdam collective Varia (vvvvvvaria.org).

The online publishing platform is available at https://a-nourishing-network.radical-openness.org/ and it consists of an *RSS feed and its html version, which can be subscribed to through a rss feed reader. The second component of the Nourishing network is its physical double, to which readers can register as well. The articles will be distributed through a “postal feed” which will be mailed via post to its suscribers over Europe. Each subscribers will receive two copies of the publication in order to extend the circulation network of one step – to someone who you think migh appreciate that.

Where will they be published?

The feed is prepared to circulate in different online networks. You can subscribe to the RSS, Atom or ActivityPub feed* here: https://a-nourishing-network.radical-openness.org.

* Future feature (work in progress)

Postal feed

Each subscriber to the postal feed will receive multiple rounds of packages, each containing two copies of an essay in order to extend the circulation network with one step – by sending it to someone who might appreciate it.

The network has the capacity to distribute packages in Austria, The Netherlands and the rest of Europe to 100 subscribers.

You can subscribe using this form: https://k4.servus.at/apps/forms/QTaTXoisjQQrJS6B.

To unsubscribe from the feed, please send an email to eco@servus.at.

===

Organisation

A Nourishing Network is initiated by servus.at (Davide Bevilacqua) in collaboration with varia.zone (Alice Strete & Manetta Berends) and is published in the context of AMRO 2020 (Arts Meets Radical Openness). Many thanks to our partners, collaborators, authors and the AMRO community.

servus.at   in cooperation with: Kunstuni Linz & Timebased media

 

Hosts & Partners

             

Main Sponsors

   Arte Linz   kapper.net

Co-Sponsors

A Nourishing Network

2020
2021

A Nourishing Network

Wie verbreiten sich Gedanken und Wissen über ein Netzwerk? Mit welcher Geschwindigkeit gedeihen Ideen am besten? Und auf welchen Wegen erreichen sie Einzelpersonen und Gruppen einer verteilten und undefinierten Interessengemeinschaft?

A Nourishing Network ist ein Online-Offline-Publikationsprojekt mit dem Ziel, die Dokumentation und Verbreitung aktueller Forschungsergebnisse des Netzwerks von KünstlerInnen, AktivistInnen und ProgrammiererInnen, das mit der österreichischen Netzkulturinitiative servus.at zusammenarbeitet, zu unterstützen. Gerade in Zeiten eingeschränkter Mobilität und physischer Begegnungen zwischen Menschen versucht die Publikation, die Verbreitung von Ideen und deren Weiterentwicklung in einer Gemeinschaft anzuregen, die in ganz Europa (und darüber hinaus) verbreitet ist und ihre Zusammenkünfte in der Regel in kleinen Veranstaltungen und Festivals hat, die derzeit nicht realisiert werden können.

Das Projekt besteht in der Schaffung von Räume, an denen die aktuellen Auswirkungen von Internet-Technologien und -Plattformen diskutiert werden können, wobei mögliche (reale) nachhaltige Modelle für die Infrastruktur vorgestellt werden, und wie solche Modelle mit den aktuellen lösungsorientierten Technologischen Trends kollidieren. Wir planen folgende Themen, die in der kritischen Kunst- und Tech-Szene, die sich Open Source verschrieben hat, zu analisieren.

Eine weitere verlorene Gelegenheit für Degrowth?

Am Anfang dachten viele, dass die Lockdowns im Frühjahr 2020 eine große Chance gewesen sein könnten, nachhaltigere Lebensstile und Produktionsmodelle zu übernehmen. Sobald sich die Messungen gelockert hatten, stieg der Verbrauch auf das Niveau vor der Einschränkungen. Wurde das aufkommende Umweltbewusstsein von einer "Art" Rückkehr zur Normalität überschattet?

Re-Zentralisierung oder blühende Alternativen?

Während der ersten Welle des Lockdown scheint es so zu sein, dass datenhungrige proprietäre Dienste wieder eine zentralere Rolle in Online-Ökosystemen und im täglichen Leben einnahmen. Die Community, die sich mit freier und quelloffener Software befasst, wartete nicht ab und versuchte, weiter an alternativen Plattformmodellen zu arbeiten. Was ist passiert? Und was könnte weiter erforscht werden?

Verlust der Kunstvielfalt: Ist Zoom jetzt die beste Kunstgalerie 2020?

Im Jahr 2020 waren viele kulturelle Initiativen gezwungen, sich auf Online-Videoanrufe zu verlagern, bei denen oft die Materialität von Körpern und Materie außer Acht gelassen wird. Das Spektrum der technischen Möglichkeiten, die (zentralisierte) digitale Plattformen bieten, prägt das Feld der Künste gegenwärtig und flächt sie ab. Wie können wir Räume schaffen, mit alternativen Formaten zu experimentieren?

Wie funktioniert A Nourishing Network?

Das Publikationsformat ist selbst ein Experiment über die Möglichkeiten der Verbreitung und Zirkulation von Wissen. Es basiert auf einem hybriden Publikationsprozess, der von Manetta Berends und Alice Strete - Redakteurinnen und Designerinnen des Rotterdamer Kollektivs Varia (vvvvvvvvaria.org) - realisiert wurde.

Die Online-Publikationsplattform ist unter https://a-nourishing-network.radical-openness.org/ verfügbar und besteht aus einem *RSS-Feed und seiner html-Version, die über einen rss-Feed-Reader abonniert werden kann. Die zweite Komponente des Netzwerks Nourishing ist sein physisches Double, zu dem sich die Leser ebenfalls anmelden können. Die Artikel werden über einen "Postalischen-Feed" verteilt, der per Post an seine Abonnenten in ganz Europa verschickt wird. Jeder Abonnent erhält zwei Exemplare der Publikation, um das Verbreitungsnetz um eine Stufe zu erweitern - an jemanden, von dem Sie denken, dass er das zu schätzen weiß.

Wo werden die Beiträge veröffentlicht?

Der Feed ist für die Verbreitung in verschiedenen Online-Netzwerken vorbereitet. Sie können den RSS-, Atom- oder ActivityPub-Feed* hier abonnieren: https://a-nourishing-network.radical-openness.org.

* Zukünftiges Feature (in Arbeit)

Postal feed

Jeder Abonnent des Postfeeds erhält mehrere Runden von Paketen, die jeweils zwei Exemplare eines Aufsatzes enthalten, um das Verbreitungsnetz um einen Schritt zu erweitern - indem er ihn an jemanden schickt, der ihn vielleicht zu schätzen weiß.

Das Netz ist in der Lage, Pakete in Österreich, den Niederlanden und im übrigen Europa an 100 Abonnenten zu verteilen.

Sie können sich mit diesem Formular anmelden: https://k4.servus.at/apps/forms/QTaTXoisjQQrJS6B.

Um den Feed abzubestellen, senden Sie bitte eine E-Mail an eco@servus.at.

===

Organisation

A Nourishing Network wird von servus.at (Davide Bevilacqua) in Zusammenarbeit mit varia.zone (Alice Strete & Manetta Berends) initiiert und im Rahmen von AMRO 2020 (Arts Meets Radical Openness) veröffentlicht. Vielen Dank an unsere Partner, Mitarbeiter, Autoren und die AMRO-Gemeinschaft.

servus.at   in Kooperation mit: Kunstuni Linz & Timebased media

 

Hosts & Partners

             

Main Sponsors

   Arte Linz   kapper.net

Co-Sponsors